Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers

Universities of the Coimbra Group offer short-term visits to young researchers from higher education institutions from countries in the European Neighbourhood. The main aim of this scholarship programme is to enable scholars to undertake research in which they are engaged in their home institution and to help them establish academic and research contacts.

The eligible countries for the 2020 edition are the following: Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Republic of Northern Macedonia, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Serbia, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

The scheme is intended for researchers born on or after 1 January 1985. Applicants should be nationals of and current residents in one of the above-listed countries, be current academic staff members of a university located in one of the above-mentioned eligible countries or an equivalent higher education institution, be of postdoctoral or equivalent status (although some institutions may offer opportunities to doctoral students). 

Deadline for applications: 30 April 2020

Typically, visits should be scheduled for the academic year 2020/2021.

On-line application form is available here.

For further information, please contact Anna Quici,

  • BelISA
  • IncrEAST